DESCRIPTION: There appear to be just two types of people in the world: those who have mostly Bacteroides type bacteria in their gut, and those whose colons are overwhelmingly home to Prevotella species instead.

If whatever gut flora enterotype we are could play an important role in our risk of developing chronic diet-associated diseases, the next question is can we alter our gut microbome by altering our diet? And the answer is — diet can rapidly and reproducibly alter the bacteria in our gut, the subject of my next video, How to Change Your Enterotype (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how to-change-your-enterotype).

These are part of a new expanded series on the microbiome that I’ll be unfolding in the coming months. Make sure you catch the first four in this series:
• How to Reduce Carcinogenic Bile Acid Production (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/how-to-reduce-carcinogenic-bile-acid-production/)
• Putrefying Protein and “Toxifying” Enzymes (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/putrefying-protein-and-toxifying-enzymes/)
• Microbiome: The Inside Story (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/microbiome-the-inside-story)
• Prebiotics: Tending Our Inner Garden (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/prebiotics-tending-our-inner-garden)

Who we have living in our gut may also play a role in autoimmune diseases. See Why Do Plant-Based Diets Help Rheumatoid Arthritis? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/why-do-plant-based-diets-help-rheumatoid-arthritis)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/whats-your-gut-microbiome-enterotype and he’ll try to answer it!

Leave a comment