DESCRIPTION: The new dietary guidelines for beverages recommend tea and coffee second only to water in healthfulness, but what about concerns they might impair the function of our endothelium?

I’m fascinated by how complicated such a simple question can get. The take-home is that water is the healthiest beverage, followed by tea.

The effects of coffee on cancer risk are more salutary:
• Coffee and Cancer (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/coffee-and-cancer/)
• What About the Caffeine? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/what-about-the-caffeine/)
• Preventing Liver Cancer with Coffee? (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-liver-cancer-with-coffee/)

It also matters what goes into the coffee. A new video next week on aspartame and brain function will explore the potential benefits of coffee in reducing suicide risk that may be undermined by the addition of artificial sweeteners.

I’ve previously covered Walnuts and Artery Function (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/walnuts-and-artery-function/) and Dark Chocolate and Artery Function (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dark-chocolate-and-artery-function/). Stay tuned for a few more coming up further exploring the effects of tea, olive oil, and plant-based diets on our lovely endothelium.

Low Carb Diets and Coronary Blood Flow (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/low-carb-diets-and-coronary-blood-flow) is one of the few other studies I’ve done that measured blood flow within the coronary arteries themselves. For more background on the brachial artery test, see my video The Power of NO (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-power-of-no/).

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/coffee-and-artery-function/ and he’ll try to answer it!

Leave a comment