DESCRIPTION: The yellow fluid around tomato seeds appears to suppress platelet activation without affecting blood clotting. This anti-inflammatory effect may explain why eating tomato products is associated with lower cardiac mortality.

The video that I set up the background on the role of platelet activation is Inhibiting Platelet Aggregation with Berries (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/inhibiting-platelet-aggregation-with-berries).

One of my favorite videos, The Tomato Effect (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-tomato-effect/), is actually not about tomatoes at all, but talks about the power of a diet composed entirely of plants to combat the heart disease epidemic. After all, Heart Disease Starts in Childhood (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/heart-disease-starts-in-childhood/).

I do have some others that really do touch on tomatoes, though:
• The Fruit Whose Juice is Healthier (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-fruit-whose-juice-is-healthier/)
• Preventing Strokes with Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/preventing-strokes-with-diet/)
• Enhanced Athletic Recovery Without Undermining Adaptation (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/enhanced-athletic-recovery-without-undermining-adaptation/)

More on kiwis here:
• Kiwifruit for Irritable Bowel Syndrome (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-for-irritable-bowel-syndrome/)
• Kiwifruit and DNA Repair (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-and-dna-repair/)
• Kiwifruit for Insomnia (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/kiwifruit-for-insomnia/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/inhibiting-platelet-activation-with-tomato-seeds/ and he’ll try to answer it!

Leave a comment